Negotiation - Bulletin 8

On March 21st and 22nd, your bargaining committee met with the Company in the presence of Federal Mediation and Conciliation Services (FMCS) in Calgary, Alberta.

The Company continues to insist on concessions

The Company has agreed with very little that we have proposed. The Company continues to insist on concessions and the decimation of our rest and other Collective Agreement provisions, and has made little movement in regards to their demands to diminish your working conditions. Our bargaining committee is not willing to accept these concessions in order to achieve provisions that allow us to adopt a system in our workplace that allows us to work properly rested and in accordance with proper sleep science principles.

We continue with the conciliation period provided for in the Canada Labour Code and are approaching the 21-day cooling off period beginning March 30th. We have one more session confirmed beginning April 16th, 2018.

We urge everyone to cast their vote

We continue to receive the ballots for the strike vote and encourage everyone to cast their vote. Should you require a replacement ballot we encourage you to contact your Division Secretary Treasurer or consult our websites for instructions on how to obtain a replacement. Please do this as soon as possible as the April 6th deadline for receiving these ballots is fast approaching.

We urge everyone to cast their vote and to demonstrate your solidarity to protect your working conditions and wages. It is extremely important to give the Company a clear message that the membership supports the TCRC bargaining committee and the proposals that were put forward on behalf of the membership.

As we enter the final bargaining sessions, we remain committed to negotiating new Collective Agreements consistent with the memberships' demands and proposals. We will keep you apprised of any further developments.

Thank you for your attention to this matter, we remain,

In Solidarity,

Greg Edwards
LE West General Chairman

Dave Fulton
CTY West General Chairman

John Campbell
LE East General Chairman

Wayne Apsey
CTY East General Chairman

CC: Doug Finnson President TCRC, Rolly Hackl President TCRC